Twenty-nine South Australian schools will tour students to Parliament House as the successful recipients of this year’s Civics in the City grants. 

Now in its third year, Civics in the City is a joint initiative between Parliament SA, the Department for Education, and the Commissioner for Children and Young People. The aim of the program is to promote greater understanding of civic processes amongst South Australian students and build awareness of Australia’s democratic system of government, including having the right to vote and the importance of exercising this right. 

With funding from Parliament SA totalling $80,000, Civics in the City provides support for regional and disadvantaged schools to undertake a trip to the Adelaide CBD and undertake a guided educational of tour Parliament House. Schools can also add their choice of other Outreach Education destinations around the CBD, as part of their excursion. 

The program recognises the benefits out-of-school activities and excursions offer students, while satisfying children and young people’s desire for a greater understanding of the parliamentary process and how changes to legislation is achieved in South Australia. 

By targeting regional, rural, and disadvantaged schools, the Civics in the City grant program helps to broaden the horizons of students who don’t often get the chance to visit Adelaide, or engage with its cultural institutions. 

Applications were received from 63 schools and were assessed against the following key criteria: 

  • Need – why students need funding to help them visit Parliament House and other civics learning destinations.  
  • Value – why schools need to add to their current provisions for civics education with a visit to Adelaide and how this will fit into the broader civics learning of the students involved.  
  • Impact – the impact the excursion is expected to have on students. 

The schools selected for grant funding are a mixture of primary and secondary schools across all sectors, travelling from as far south as Mount Gambier and as far west as Whyalla. 

The 29 successful schools for 2024 are: 

  • Airdale Primary School 
  • Booleroo Centre District School 
  • Bute Early Learning & Primary School 
  • Flinders View Primary School 
  • Gladstone High School 
  • Glencoe Central Primary School 
  • Hackham West School  
  • Jamestown Community School 
  • John Pirie Secondary School
  • Kangaroo Inn Area School
  • Kingston-on-Murray Primary School
  • Long Street Primary School
  • Melaleuca Park Primary School
  • Millicent North Primary School
  • Monash Primary School 
  • Morgan Primary School 
  • Murray Bridge South Primary School 
  • Orroroo Area School 
  • Penola High School 
  • Pinnaroo Primary School 
  • Port Augusta Secondary School 
  • Ramco Primary School 
  • Rivergum College 
  • Solomontown Primary School 
  • St Anthony’s Catholic Primary School 
  • Waikerie High School 
  • Warooka Primary School 
  • Whyalla Stuart Primary School R-6 
  • Yankalilla Area School