Four young people from South Australia have won the highly sought-after prize of having their stories published by the ABC.

Ranim Alkharabeh from Mount Gambier, Kane Goldsworthy from Port Neill, Natasha Leedham from Perponda, and Krystin Mance from Coober Pedy, are all winners in the annual regional youth project that ABC runs in partnership with the Australian Government.

Each year, every ABC regional station selects a winning Heywire Competition entry to represent their part of Australia.

The winning participants score a chance to share their story on ABC radio across Australia and internationally and work with ABC producers and Heywire Summit in Canberra.

In Canberra participants undertake leadership workshops and meet with members of parliament, government departments and community leaders. The ‘Heywirers’ work together in teams to develop ideas aimed at improving the lives of young people in regional Australia. The ideas are presented at Parliament House in front of an esteemed panel.

To find out more about the winning entries from South Australia or to hear their great stories being told, head to to see some of their stellar work.

Heywire image attached courtesy of: